Garrett Memorial Chapel
The Garrett Chapel, also known as the “Little Chapel on the Mount” was built by Evelyn and Paul Garrett, who founded and managed Garrett and Company from 1902 until 1940. Garrett and Company was once among the largest wine producers in the world, with peak output exceeding 10 million gallons per year. Much of the grapes were grown on this very spot, on approximately 4000 acres of land in the Finger Lakes.
Today, the Garrett Chapel stands as the last significant remnant of this once great organization. The chapel was erected in memory of Evelyn and Paul's son Charles, who died of tuberculosis in 1929. Many of the Garrett children died young, and Charles was the only son to survive to adulthood. With him died the family name and the heir apparent of Garrett and Company. Survived by his parents and three sisters, the family sought to commemorate his life and the principles to which they subscribed by building this chapel on the place he loved most – Bluff Point. » Read More About Garrett Chapel «
National Register of Historic Places
Building Significance Garrett Memorial Chapel
The building is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as the last significant remnant of Garrett and Company, its use of a number of novel building materials and techniques, and for the extensive collection of unique stained glass windows, including the last windows ever made by the distinguished artist Frederick Wilson.
Help Us Preserve The Chapel
Nature’s elements have conspired to threaten the Chapel’s future. Seasonal use, steep hillside construction, use of unique materials have combined for a difficult preservation challenge.
While the Garrett Chapel Trust has received recognition from the New York State Landmark Society for its care of this historic gem, funding remains the primary constraint in ongoing care and restoration efforts.
Community support has been the primary vehicle for restoration projects. care, and maintenance.